Written instructions for the Backup and Restore process
used to transfer courses from one term to another.
How to backup your course
======================
Login to Moodle
Go to the class whose materials you want to copy (backup and restore) to a new term
In your Administration Block, click Backup
On the next page, you will see two columns of data to include or not.
All of your course materials are on the left and are already checked.
All of you old student (user) data is on the right. You DO NOT want that information for a new class in a new term with new students. Therefore, click the NONE link at the top right column (All/None). Those boxes will be unchecked for you.
Scroll to the bottom of that page.
Disregard the choices at the bottom and click Continue
Note the name of your backup file
The numbers 20061219-1330 mean year, month, day, time (military format)
December 19, 2006 at 1:30 pm
Scroll to the bottom and click Continue
Wait for your backup to complete, scroll to the bottom and click Continue
You will now see a "list" of your course backup files. To download that file to your computer, click on its NAME (backup-zzz_zzz-2006_etc) and choose to save it to your disk
The Backup process is complete and you now have a zip file on your computer which contains your entire Moodle class.
How to restore your course
======================
With the backup file you wish to restore saved on your computer, complete the following steps.
Login to the new Moodle term (you may have to enter /winter2007 or /spring 2007 to moodle.lanecc.edu)
Once logged in, click on the correct class (which is currently an empty shell)
In your Administration Block, click Restore
Click Upload a file
Click Browse and find/navigate to the appropriate backup zip file on your computer. Choose Open
Back on the Moodle page, click Upload this file
Once the file has been uploaded, it will show on the list of files
Click RESTORE, which is to the right side of the filename you just uploaded. (Unzip List RESTORE Rename)
Click Yes to continue
Scroll to the bottom and click Continue
At this screen, it is VERY IMPORTANT to change the Restore to: choice from Existing course, adding data to it to Existing Course, deleting it first. (This may sound strange, since the course is already and empty shell, but a failure to do this will result in the loss of any Topic or Weekly summaries that you have used in your course.)
Scroll to the bottom, ignoring all other choices, and click Continue
You will now click the correct class shell you want to add your course data to. (Again, the may sound strange, as you are most likely already IN tat course, but you will select it anyway.)
On the next screen, if you have chosen correctly, click Restore this coursen now!
Once complete, click Continue.
Look at your restored course and check to see if everything is there and that it functions correctly. If you had deadlines, you will most likely have some deadline dates to change for the new term.
The Restore process is not complete.
NOTES
Repeat this process for other courses you are teaching.
If you are using a metacourse, you need to create that metacourse empty shell (with the Metacourses link in your Admininstration Block) before you attempt the Restore process.