You can send a page to any currently logged-in user who is accepting pages. The page appears in a small JavaScript alert dialog on top of the paged user’s browser the next time that user sends a request to the WebBoard server (for example, by clicking a link or posting a message). Up to five messages from multiple users can be displayed in the same box.
 |
Note
Guests cannot send or receive pages.
|
To send and reply to pages, follow these steps:
- Click Page on the menubar or Current Users from the More Options menu. The list of current users for the board appears. Users who are accepting pages have a bell icon to the left of their names.
- Click the bell icon of the user you want to page. The Page User form appears, in which you type your message. Users who do not have a bell icon have disabled paging.
- Type in your message. A page can be up to 150 characters long (about 10 to 15 words).
- Click Send when you are finished entering the message. WebBoard sends the page to the user.
- To reply to a received page, repeat Steps 1–4.
To receive a page sent by another user, you must be logged on and active on the board, as described in these steps:
- Send a request to the WebBoard server by clicking a link or refreshing a frame. The page message appears in a JavaScript alert box with the name of the sender and the time of the page. The alert box can contain up to five messages.
- To close the page dialog, click OK. (Note that at a later time, clicking the Back button in the browser may redisplay the same alert box.)
Sometimes you don’t want your WebBoard session to be interrupted with pages. You can disable paging by turning off the Accept Pages option in your user profile. Even if you have done so, broadcast messages from the WebBoard administrator or board manager will still reach you.
To disable paging, follow these steps:
- Click More on the WebBoard menubar. The More Options menu appears.
- Click Edit Your Profile from the More Options menu. The User Profile form appears.
- Scroll down until you see the Accept Pages option. To disable paging, select No.
- Click Save to update your profile. WebBoard responds with an Edits Saved message.
Your name will no longer have a bell icon next to it in the Current Users list, preventing other users from paging you.
Copyright ©2001 ChatSpace, Inc.