Conferences where “Automatically verify new posts” is turned off require a conference
moderator (or board manager or WebBoard administrator) to approve any new message
before it will be visible to conference participants. This allows the moderators to
monitor, or exercise editorial control over what messages are posted in a conference.
A moderator can verify, add, delete, and edit messages in a conference. Users in
conferences requiring message verification can post messages (both to new and
existing topics), but the moderator decides whether to post the message, discuss the
matter with the user personally, or request that the user rephrase the message.
Once the moderator approves the message, it appears in the conference and is available
to other conference users.
Users post messages to conferences requiring verification just as they would to any
public or private conference. However, the moderator must first verify messages before
they appear to other users.
To verify conference messages, follow these steps:
- Log in as a moderator (or WebBoard administrator or board manager identity).
- In the Conferences List, locate each unverified message. Unverified messages have
a red checkmark to the right of the message.
- Finding them is easier when viewing only new messages. Click New at the top of the
conference list.
- You may need to scroll to the right edge of the frame to see the red checkmarks.
- To read, edit, or delete the message, click it in the Conferences List. The message
appears in the message window. If the posting is acceptable, click Post. If not,
you can edit or delete the message by clicking the appropriate command in the message
window. To send email to the message author, click Email Reply.
- To verify the message, click the red checkmark to the right of the message. Until
you verify these messages, they can’t be seen or read by other users, except the
person who posted the message.
 |
Tip If you verify messages once a day, a quick way to get a list of messages to be verified
is to select Today’s Messages from the More Options menu. |